Board of Ethics

The board of ethics shall consist of five members who shall be appointed by the mayor, subject to the approval of the city council. No member of the board of ethics shall hold any elected or appointed office, whether paid or unpaid, or any position of employment with the city, any city agency or other government or political party. The members shall serve for a term of three years. Each member of the board of ethics shall have been a resident of the city of at least one year prior to the date of the appointment and shall reside in the city throughout the term of office. The members may be re-appointed for any number of consecutive terms.



  • To initiate on its own motion, receive and investigate complaints, hold hearings, and make findings of fact and determinations with regard to alleged violations of the provisions of city code Division 3 Subdivision 1.
  • To refer any information concerning violations of this article to the prosecuting attorney for the city.
  • To render advisory opinions to city or any city agency, officers and employees regarding whether a given set of facts and circumstances would constitute a violation of any provision of city code Division 3 Subdivision 1.
  • To control and maintain all statements of financial interests that are required to be filed by Division 3 Subdivision 1 and to ensure that the statements are available for public inspection in accordance with the requirements of this article and the laws of the State of Michigan.
  • To adopt rules and regulations and to take other actions, as necessary, to implement the provisions of this article, provided that the rules, regulations, and actions are not in conflict with the provisions of any state, federal, or local laws or regulations.
  • To impose administrative fines not to exceed $250.00. Failure to pay such administrative fine shall constitute a misdemeanor.
  • To hire independent counsel. The city council shall appropriate sufficient funds to the board of ethics to enable it to hire such independent counsel.


  • Andrea Sargent
    Term Expires: 2025
  • James Deines
    Term Expires: 2023
  • Jean White
    Term Expires: 2023

  • James Nicholson
    Term Expires: 2024
  •  Adrienne Corcoran
    Term Expires: 2024
  • Thom Hawley (Alternate)